The Sacred Spiral

The spiral is perhaps one of the oldest symbols of human spirituality known to man.  Although its meaning varies depending on the culture, it can be found in the artwork of most people of Europe, Asia, Africa and the Americas.  Spirals have also been found at burial and ceremonial sites, on jewelry, on weapons and in petroglyphs in various locations around the world.  The oldest spiral symbols can be seen in Ireland at the megalithic site of Newgrange where these mysterious symbols date back to about 3,200 B.C.
When one looks at these symbols from a spiritual context, they have profound meaning and depth as symbols of unity and ascension.  Spirals are believed to represent movement through experiences in life.    The Celts in particularly viewed this symbol as one of progressive development, growth and expansion as we make our journey towards the center and towards the light. At the spiral’s center is where we find spiritual balance and realize our deep connection to the eternal forces of nature and the universe.

 

4 thoughts on “The Sacred Spiral

    1. Hi Matariki,
      Thank you for linking your article to my sight. 🙂 The Koru is beautiful! It is very interesting to see how each delicate leaf evolves in the spiral formation. This just reminds me more of the miracles nature can show us. I’d like to try my hand at making a Triskelion too. I used to practice Calligraphy and I took some art classes on drawing Spirals and Celtic art, which I thoroughly enjoyed!
      Take care and I’ll look forward to reading more of your posts. I’ve enjoyed reading them. Your words hit many chords with me and they are very appreciated.

      Like

  1. Hi Caroline
    What a wonderful blog. I am so glad to have found you.
    I am currently living in Scotland … born in New Zealand. The Maori people in New Zealand have a spiral symbol too known as the koru. It is the symbol of the fern as it uncurls.
    Thank you for your blog. We seem to have quite a lot in common … I am going ot have a good look around at all of your other posts.
    xx

    Like

    1. Hi Matariki,

      Thank you very much, I’m so glad you enjoyed the blog. From New Zealand to Scotland? You are very lucky to live in such a beautiful place. I think if I had to choose, Scotland or Ireland would be the first and only choices on my list!
      Yes, I’ve heard of the Maori people and regarding the spiral symbol I can certainly say I’m not surprised. The fact that it has been found everywhere dating back thousands of years is very significant. Your description of the Maori spiral symbol as a fern is intriquing too. I’ll be it’s gorgeous with the leaves uncurling as it opens. Nice!
      I hope I will be hearing from you again and the fact that we have a lot in common is really the purpose of this blog. To bring like minds together! Take care and thank you again for posting your comment. 🙂
      Love and Light,
      Caroline

      Caroline
      Caroline

      Like

I'd love to hear from you! Feel free to leave a reply. :)

