Happy 25th Wedding Anniversary to Me!

Raul and Caroline, February 7, 1987

Today, twenty-five years ago, at the age of nineteen, I married my husband.   We were ready to begin our new lives together.   Little did I know then, what a roller coaster of a ride it would take me on, with all sorts of ups and downs along the way.  I still barely have enough time to come up for breath before the next adventure gets under way.

Some people have asked me, how did you manage all these years?  Well, I tell them, it’s like this…….”It’s been like 10 minutes………underwater, with no oxygen.”
Then I remind them, communication is number one, and, it’s vital that the two people, although together as a couple, do not lose sight of themselves as individual’s either.  Each person needs room for growth and personal development, each with different interests, while sharing much of the same interests as well.  No two people are exactly the same.

I think that is the best I can offer at the moment.  Allow room for growth, without smothering one another, communicate, speak your truth and never hold in resentment and hurt feelings.

Chains do not hold a marriage together.  It is threads, hundreds of tiny threads which sew people together through the years.  ~Simone Signoret

3 thoughts on “Happy 25th Wedding Anniversary to Me!

I'd love to hear from you! Feel free to leave a reply. :)

