Music Makes Us Feel Good

Whenever I’m feeling a little out of sorts, not quite with it, or in need of an energy boost, I’ve found music does the trick every time.

Besides being a universal language, it carries us back to different times, places and events in our lives.   When I listen to a song I haven’t heard for 10 years or so, the moment I hear it again, I recognize it instantly.  I remember the words and every detail of the song.  Why is that?  It’s like a rhythmic déjà vu.

Benny and the Jets, by Elton John carries me back to the 70’s, when I was little girl.  I used to spend hours listening to music in my room on my Mickey Mouse record player.  Sorry, always makes me cry and Daniel leaves me feeling quite nostalgic, in a peaceful way.

While I’m on the topic of Elton John, I feel I should mention our birthdays are on the same day.  I’m very proud of that since Elton is one of my favorite artists: a master pianist.

I love the piano.  It’s one of my favorite musical instruments and I sincerely wish I took time to learn how to play better when I had the chance.  My heart sings when I hear piano music.  I guess that’s why Elton John’s music touches me so.  There are other artists I admire, who are also pianists, such as Billy Joel, Alicia Keys and Stevie Wonder.

Music is the language everyone understands.  There’s no need to conjugate verbs or to know the difference between a verb and an adverb.  With music, all you need to do is listen, open your heart and feel.  Everyone understands the rhythm of the heart.

Here is Elton John from 1970, singing Your Song, another one of my favorites.  What kind of music do you enjoy listening too?

I'd love to hear from you! Feel free to leave a reply. :)

