Uninterrupted Writing Time: Thank Heavens for Earplugs

Yesterday, I was in my favorite book store when I picked up a book on 100 ways writer’s can find time to write even though they live busy lifestyles.

Right now, as I type this post, I’m chuckling to myself as I remember the book from yesterday.  I’ve been working on an article I plan on posting later today, but I had to run get my earplugs so I can hear myself think while I work.  My 22-year-old daughter is in her room exercising and singing at the top of her lungs with the radio turned up, full blast.  Within the last 20 minutes, the telephone rang, some one came to the door and one of our dogs vomited on the kitchen floor.  The truth of the matter is, sometimes, it’s not easy to find time to write.

Fortunately, my multi tasking abilities are good, so I write a paragraph, run downstairs, attend to whatever crisis or mishap is present at that moment, and then run back upstairs and write another paragraph.  Would you believe I’ve written while driving in the car too?  I stopped every two blocks or so to jot down a few lines, but as any writer knows, when the ideas are coming, it’s like having a baby, there’s no stopping it and saying…….maybe later.

I guess I should have bought the book, it had some wonderful quotes for aspiring writer’s like myself.   Oh well, my earplugs are working well now, thank heavens for that,  so I must get back to work.

Be sure to look for my newest post later this afternoon.  If I can dodge the kids and the hubby for a little while longer, I think I’ll be able to get it done.

Have a wonderful and peaceful Saturday everyone!

2 thoughts on “Uninterrupted Writing Time: Thank Heavens for Earplugs

  1. Oh … I so understand this. When I write .. that is it .. I HAVE to get it out. This morning I was woken at around 5am to write something .. which is good as then nobody else is up and I can hear that voice in my head .. because writing is really like dictation isn’t it.
    I basically type what the voice says … and if I cannot hear the voice .. I cannot type .. i cannot write …and then …I get so grumpy.
    I would love a shed like the one which Raold Dahl had .. so I could sit there and type away ..and shout at the anyone who dared disturb me. 🙂
    There is no way that I could stop midstream to go and attend to anything .. and the house could fall down around me .. the laundry be all over the stairs and my child could go to school in the same clothes every day for a month. 🙂
    Yep … writing …it is like having a baby … it just has to get out when it has to get out … and that also leaves me shouting sometimes like when I gave birth … I HAVE TO DO THIS !!!!
    LEAVE ME ALONE AND CLOSE THE DOOR ON YOUR WAY OUT!!! 🙂
    Hugs

    Like

    1. I got you loud and clear. I wake up at 5am sometimes just so I can have some peace and quiet. I thinking about making myself a Don’t Disturb sign. Roald Dahl had a shed? Now there’s an idea. 🙂 Oh don’t you love those days when no one is arouond and you can write and think to your hearts content with no interruptions! They happen once in a while.
      Loved your comment, so true too.
      Caroline

      Like

I'd love to hear from you! Feel free to leave a reply. :)

