Using Our Discernment

I acquired a new word for my vocabulary today.  It’s called Discernment.  Discernment means, the act or process of exhibiting keen insight and good judgment.  This is something we do, or should do, every day when making decisions, or when we need to look deeply at a problem in order to gain perspective about the true nature of something or  someone. Discernment encourages us to look within ourselves and trust our inner knowing.

How many of you listen to your “gut feeling” when you’re about to do, or say something, and your gut tells you; better not.  How many of you have felt a heaviness around you when something seems wrong or out of place.  This could be due a situation your in, or something someone said to you which did not resonate with the truth of who you are.

Recently, my discernment has been kicking in full force.  I’ve had a sense of needing to let go of what isn’t working for me, such as old habits, negative thought patterns and so forth.  Discernment tells me to sit back, relax and ride the wave of my life.  I need to stop worrying about what everyone is thinking and doing.  Especially, heaven forbid, what they think of me.   I need to trust my gut feeling more, and listen to my inner knowing.

Trust is a relatively small word, but it sure packs a punch.  In times of duress, it may be extremely hard to go within and trust our discernment.   This is why, every day it is important to spend quiet time, away from endless mind chatter, and closer to your heart. Within your heart lies the goodness ofwho you are, the truth of all that is, and all that will be.  It’s there, that we connect with our inner knowing and our questions will be answered.  All we have to do is ask!

One thought on “Using Our Discernment

I'd love to hear from you! Feel free to leave a reply. :)

