Our Most Cherished Companions

14909933_1574025759289737_5757921229627834187_n
Penny on the right with her brother Rudo

Although the world of companion animals is large and vast. For those of you who know Raul and I, our most cherished companions are our dogs and this is also true for our son Ricky and our daughter Christine.

Our pack of Blue Heelers are truly hard core working dogs but at the center of the hub, what makes the wheel of joy and delight go round and round is the love which our family receives from them:  Agave, Kalua, Rudo, Botete, Minnie and Penny.

Their unconditional love, their playful antics and displays of near humanism brings sparks of joy to our hearts each time we interact with them.  Their presence as they lie sleeping at our feet, or when they playfully roll over to get their bellies scratched is comforting beyond words.  Sometimes just to touch them and look into their eyes, or gently scratch their ears brings to us a sense of joy and calm like no other.

We feel so blessed to have these wonderful animals in our lives as friends, life long companions, active/working contributors to the over all functioning of the ranch and to those who visit us, from what I’ve seen, they provide equal amounts of happiness and joy to our guests as well.

Yesterday, we lost Ricky’s dog, Penny.  She was involved in a car accident and suffered many internal injuries.  Although everything that was humanly possible was done to save her life, her body couldn’t withstand the internal damage.  As you can imagine, we’re terribly grieved over the loss of this beautiful, sweet girl who was a special and most cherished companion to our son Ricky.

Penny was a spark of joy. She was always happy, always ready to play, and to please. She loved Ricky so much.  Everyone loved Penny and we will truly miss her, always.

For those of you who have a special dog in your life. I leave you with a prayer that you might appreciate.  Their unconditional love, devotion and the companionship they provide to us through every phase of our lives no matter who we are, what we do, or what we we think we look like: there are no  barriers between the love of a dog and their human friends and family.

35146_1330191220188_1434686_n
Penny and her mom, Agave

                              A Dog’s Prayer by Beth Norman Harris

Treat me kindly for no heart in all the world is more grateful for kindness than the loving heart of me.

Do not break my spirit with a stick, for although I should lick your hand between the blows, your patience and understanding will more quickly teach me the things you would have me do.

Speak to me often for your voice is the world’s sweetest music as you must know by the fierce wagging of my tail when your footsteps fallupon my waiting ear.

When it’s cold and wet, please take me inside for now I’m a domesticated animal, no longer use to bitter elements. I ask no greater glory than the privilege of sitting at your feet bside the hearth.  Though had you no home, I would rather follow you through ice and snow than rest upon the softest pillow in the warmest home in all the land, for you are my friend and my family.

Keep my pan filled with fresh water for although I should not reproach you were it dry, I can’t tell you when I suffer thirst.  Feed me clean food that I may stay well to romp and play and to do your bidding, to walk by your side and to stand ready, willing and able to protect you with my life, should your life be in danger.

And, should the Creator see fit to deprive me of my health or sight, don’t turm me away from you.  Rather hold me gently in your arms as skilled hands grant me the merciful path to eternal rest…amd I will leave you knowing with the last breath I drew, my fate was ever safest in your hands.

 

12195044_10205567290446948_5923176661662292944_o
Ricky’s Penny

4 thoughts on “Our Most Cherished Companions

  1. Caroline, as always you have such a way with words. My heart is so full of sorrow and gratitude. Gratitude for Ricky’s health and well being from this accident and sorrow at the loss of Penny. I send my prayers & support for you all. Penny will be greatly missed.

    Like

    1. Hi Denise, thank you for such a lovely comment. There is a lot to be grateful for! Ricky is fine and well, and even though we lost Penny we can be grateful for the special friendship she and Ricky shared. We sure miss her.

      Like

  2. It’s never easy to lose one’s beloved furry friend. So sorry! I loved how all the dogs were such an integral part of Rancho Bellota. (Even when it was 3 am and I was awakened as they went off to deter the coyotes from coming down!) Peace to you all.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Alexandra, thank you for writing. Yes, it’s very hard to lose a furry friend. Ricky and all of us will miss her. Of course Ricky will miss her the most. They were very close. Peace to you too and thank you again. Caroline

      Like

I'd love to hear from you! Feel free to leave a reply. :)

